Choose a Freedom License Plate Today
While Supporting the Arizona Veterans Donation Fund
Purchase an Arizona Freedom License Plate: $17 of the $25 special plate fee goes to the Arizona Veterans Donation Fund, which is used in many ways to help Arizona’s veteran community:
- Veteran Health Care
- Veteran Education
- Veteran Memorial Cemeteries (maintenance)
- State Veteran’s Homes (currently Phoenix & Tucson)
By law, the Arizona Veterans Donation Fund is used only for Arizona’s veteran programs and cannot be absorbed into the state’s general fund.
All-in Costs to You: $25 initial application fee, plus $25 annual renewal (no renewal fee for personalization of a veteran plate), in addition to all applicable vehicle licensing and registration fees.
Purchase Requirements? None. No special requirements. Available to everyone who wants to show support for female veterans.
Tax-deductible? Yes. $17 goes to a special account in the Arizona Veterans’ Donation Fund, which is tax-deductible, to assist homeless women veterans.
Order online? Yes. May be ordered online or at any Authorized Third Party providers. May also be personalized with maximum of 6 characters.
The Arizona Freedom License Plate is also available with a disability symbol, but such a plate must be ordered in person. Form #96-0104 (available online at www.azdot.gov) must be attached.
Veterans plates now available for motorcycles!
|New Plate Amount||Renewal Amount|
|Cost = $25||Cost = $25|
|Personalized Plate additional $25|| |
|(IN ADDITION TO ALL APPLICABLE LICENSING FEES)||(IN ADDITION TO ALL APPLICABLE LICENSING FEES)|
Commonly Asked Questions & Answers
Q. Who is eligible for the Arizona Freedom License Plate?
A. No special requirements. Available to everyone who wants to celebrate freedom!
Q. Can I renew my registration by phone?
A. Yes, if your vehicle does not require emission testing, or the emission testing has already been done (and you have documented proof). You can renew the registration up to 6 months in advance. The Arizona Freedom License Plate will replace your current plate and the veteran plate will become renewable at the same time as your current plate. Vehicles with a current 2-year registration require that the Arizona Freedom License Plate be purchased for two years also.
Q. When will I receive my new plates?
A. The Arizona Freedom License Plate, along with new MONTH and YEAR registration tags/stickers will be mailed to you within 5 business days.
Q. What do I do with my old plates?
A. You can send your old plates back to MVD or simply discard them.
Q. I’m ready for an Arizona Freedom License Plate? What do I do now?
A. Please go to www.azdot.gov for office locations.
B. As of January 25, 2017, you may now get your specialty license plates like these ONLINE at ServiceArizona.com.